.Hi-Res ยป Sonny Rollins – Sonny Boy (2017 24/192 FLAC)

Sonny Rollins – Sonny Boy (2017 24/192 FLAC)

Sonny Rollins - Sonny Boy (2017 24/192 FLAC)

Sonny Rollins – Sonny Boy (2017 24/192 FLAC)

Artist: Sonny Rollins
Album: Sonny Boy
Release/Reissue: 1961/2017
Genre: Jazz, Post-Bop

01. Ee-Ah
02. B. Quick
03. B. Swift
04. The House I Live In
05. Sonny Boy

Not released until 1961, this album repackages the final recordings Sonny Rollins made for Prestige in 1956. Four of the songs previously appeared on Tour de Force, while the fifth was recorded at the session for Rollins Plays for Bird. Rollins is backed by pianist Kenny Drew, bassist George Morrow and drummer Max Roach, with pianist Wade Legge and trumpeter Kenny Dorham performing on one track.

Recorded in 1956 but issued in 1961 only, Sonny Boy combines three tracks previously heard on Rollins’ 1957 release Tour de Force, omitting two ballads sung by Earl Coleman) with the title track, popularized by Al Jolson in the ’20s, and an instrumental version of “The House I Live In” from the Frank Sinatra film of the same title. The blues “Ee-Ah” features a laid-back introduction by pianist Kenny Drew and a remarkable extended solo by Rollins. The aptly titled “B. Quick” and “B. Swift” are lightning-fast improvs spotlighting exceptional solos by all members, especially drummer Max Roach. Of the previously unissued tracks, “Sonny Boy” has a bounciness unusual in ’50s jazz, and “The House I Live In” (featuring trumpeter Kenny Dorham and pianist Wade Legge) manages to be simultaneously stately and swinging. They’re hardly mere leftovers, and should have been issued long before they were.

Sonny Rollins – ts
Kenny Dorham – tp (4)
Kenny Drew – p (1-3, 5)
Wade Legge – p (4)
George Morrow – b
Max Roach – d