.Release/Reissue » 2017 » Sonny Clark – Blues In The Night (2017 FLAC)

Sonny Clark – Blues In The Night (2017 FLAC)

  • by
Sonny Clark - Blues In The Night (2017 FLAC)

Sonny Clark – Blues In The Night (2017 FLAC)

Artist: Sonny Clark
Album: Blues In The Night
Release/Reissue: 2017
Genre: Jazz, Hard Bop

01. Can’t We Be Friends
02. I Cover The Waterfront
03. Somebody Loves Me
04. Blues In The Night
05. Blues In The Night (Alternate Take)
06. All Of You
07. Dancing In The Dark
08. Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You (Alternate Take)
09. Ain’t No Use
10. Black Velvet
11. I’m Just A Lucky So And So
12. Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You
13. The Breeze And I
14. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love

The piano trio material included in this Japanese reissue, along with another session from late 1958 (see The Art of the Trio, aka “The 45 Sessions”), constitutes a body of work which was never released in LP format during Sonny Clark’s tragically short life. Clark was an underrated master of the hard bop genre who had a very subtle, artful touch. On this date, he exhibits the influence of Ahmad Jamal and Red Garland (a lighter sound) and less of the Bud Powell-inspired, hard-driving bebop lines. This material was intended for jukebox release in 45 format. The arrangements are simple and concise; the tunes are all well-known standards. Sonny’s conception is quite accessible — relaxed tempos and blues-inflected improvisations. His chord voicings and harmonies are exquisite on “I Cover the Waterfront,” “Somebody Loves Me,” “Dancing in the Dark,” and Cole Porter’s “All of You.” The recording in many ways presages the Three Sounds’ approach to a tightly organized, commercially affable piano trio concept. This material is also included in Blue Note’s 1998 domestic Sonny Clark release entitled Standards.

Bass – Jymie Merritt, Paul Chambers
Drums – Wes Landers
Piano – Sonny Clark