.Release/Reissue » 2003 » Shelly Manne & His Friends – Li’l Abner (2003 FLAC)

Shelly Manne & His Friends – Li’l Abner (2003 FLAC)

  • by
Shelly Manne & His Friends - Li'l Abner (2003 FLAC)

Shelly Manne & His Friends – Li’l Abner (2003 FLAC)

Artist: Shelly Manne & His Friends
Album: Li’l Abner
Release/Reissue: 2003
Genre: Jazz

01. Jubilation T. Cornpone
02. The Country’s In The Very Best Of Hands
03. If I Had My Druthers
04. Unnecessary Town
05. Matrimonial Stomp
06. Progress Is The Root Of All Evil
07. Oh, Happy Day
08. Namely You
09. Past My Prime

In a follow-up to their hit recording of music from My Fair Lady, Shelly Manne and his Friends (a trio with pianist André Previn, bassist Leroy Vinnegar, and the drummer/leader) recorded nine songs from the play Li’l Abner. Although Johnny Mercer and Gene DePaul wrote the score, none of the songs caught on except for the ballad “Namely You,” and this LP (whose music has not been reissued yet on CD) was not a best-seller. The musicians are in fine form but the melodies are not too memorable (when was the last time anyone played “If I Had My Druthers” or “Progress Is the Root of All Evil”?). Actually the main reason to search for this album is for the hilarious photo on the cover.

Shelly Manne – drums
Andre Previn – piano
Leroy Vinnegar – bass