.Release/Reissue » 2011 » Sam Cooke – The RCA Albums Collection (8 CD box set FLAC)

Sam Cooke – The RCA Albums Collection (8 CD box set FLAC)

  • by
Sam Cooke - The RCA Albums Collection (8 CD box set FLAC)

Sam Cooke – The RCA Albums Collection (8 CD box set FLAC)

Artist: Sam Cooke
Release/Reissue: 2011
Catalogue: 88697898702
Genre: Soul, Rhythm & Blues, Funk, Blues, Jazz, R&B

Album: Cooke’s Tour CD 01

01. Far Away Places
02. Under Paris Skies
03. South Of The Border (Down Mexico Way)
04. Bali Ha’i
05. The Coffee Song (They’ve Got An Awful Lot Of Coffee In Brazil)
06. Arrivederci, Roma (Goodbye To Rome)
07. London By Night
08. Jamaica Farewell
09. Galway Bay
10. Sweet Leilani
11. The Japanese Farewell Song
12. The House I Live In

Album: Hits Of The 50’s CD 02

01. Hey There
02. Mona Lisa
03. Too Young
04. The Great Pretender
05. You, You, You
06. Unchained Melody
07. The Wayward Wind
08. Secret Love
09. The Song From Moulin Rouge
10. I’m Walking Behind You
11. Cry
12. Venus

Album: Swing Low CD 03

01. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
02. I’m Just A Country Boy
03. They Call The Wind Maria
04. Twilight On The Trail
05. If I Had You
06. Chain Gang
07. Grandfather’s Clock
08. Jeanie With The Light Brown Hair
09. Long, Long Ago
10. Pray
11. You Belong To Me
12. Goin’ Home

Album: My Kind Of Blues CD 04

01. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
02. Little Girl Blue
03. Nobody Knows When You’re Down And Out
04. Out In The Cold Again
05. But Not For Me
06. Exactly Like You
07. I’m Just A Lucky So And So
08. Since I Met You Baby
09. Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home
10. Trouble In Mind
11. You’re Always On My Mind
12. The Song Is Ended

Album: Twistin’ The Night Away CD 05

01. Twistin’ The Night Away
02. Sugar Dumpling
03. Twistin’ In The Kitchen With Dinah
04. Somebody’s Gonna Miss Me
05. A Whole Lotta Woman
06. The Twist
07. Twistin’ In The Old Town Tonight
08. Movin’ And A’ Groovin’
09. Camptown Twist
10. Somebody Have Mercy
11. Soothe Me
12. That’s It – I Quit – I’m Movin’ On

Album: Mr. Soul CD 06

01. I Wish You Love
02. Willow Weep For Me
03. Chains Of Love
04. Smoke Rings
05. All The Way
06. Send Me Some Lovin’
07. Cry Me A River
08. Driftin’ Blues
09. For Sentimental Reasons
10. Nothing Can Change This Love
11. Little Girl
12. These Foolish Things

Album: Night Beat CD 07

01. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
02. Lost And Lookin’
03. Mean Old World
04. Please Don’t Drive Me Away
05. I Lost Everything
06. Get Yourself Another Fool
07. Little Red Rooster
08. Laughin’ And Clownin’
09. Trouble Blues
10. You Gotta Move
11. Fool’s Paradise
12. Shake Rattle And Roll

Album: One Night Stand! (Sam Cooke Live At The Harlem Square Club, 1963) CD 08

01. Soul Twist / Introduction
02. Feel It (Don’t Fight It)
03. Chain Gang
04. Cupid
05. Medley: It’s All Right / For Sentimental Reasons
06. Twistin’ The Night Away
07. Somebody Have Mercy
08. Bring It On Home To Me
09. Nothing Can Change This Love
10. Having A Party

When Sam Cooke signed with RCA Records in 1960, he had already had several hits (“You Send Me,” “[What A] Wonderful World,” and “Only Sixteen” among them) on the small independent label Keen Records. He had paid attention to the business sides of things, too, and he signed with RCA because he was allowed to keep control of his song publishing. His RCA albums, eight of them, were mixed affairs for the most part, often full of covers, but Cooke was never less than charismatic when he sang, and his last two albums, the blues-inflected Night Beat and the dynamic One Night Stand! Sam Cooke Live at the Harlem Square Club, both of which were released in 1963, are classics by any definition. The final album released during Cooke’s lifetime, 1964’s fine Ain’t That Good News, and all of the recordings made by Cooke in the year leading up to his death, including the magnificent “A Change Is Gonna Come,” are controlled by ABKCO Records and are not included in this set.