.Release/Reissue » 2019 » Peggy Lee – In Love Again (2019 FLAC)

Peggy Lee – In Love Again (2019 FLAC)

Peggy Lee - In Love Again (2019 FLAC)

Peggy Lee – In Love Again (2019 FLAC)

Artist: Peggy Lee
Album: In Love Again
Release/Reissue: 2019
Genre: Vocal Jazz

01. A Lot Of Livin’ To Do
02. I’ve Got Your Number
03. Little By Little
04. Got That Magic
05. The Moment Of Truth
06. That’s My Style
07. I Can’t Stop Loving You
08. Unforgettable
09. Once
10. (I’m) In Love Again
11. I Got Lost In His Arms
12. How Insensitive

The over-used, well-worn phrase “inimitable style” has real meaning when used to describe Peggy Lee’s vocalizing. As one of those few artists whose voice is immediately recognizable, she has a recorded legacy of immense proportions. Capitol captures a bit of this legacy on a reissue of two of Lee’s 1964 albums for that label. They were cut during a period when Lee was churning out LPs one after another for that label.

Typically the play list was a combination of standards and forgettable pop tunes of the day as well as some melodies which have become associated with Ms Lee, such as “A Lot of Livin; to Do.” On In the Name of Love, Lee is accompanied by large orchestras conducted by Dick Hazzard, Shorty Rogers, and Bill Holman. On the second album, Lee has an outstanding small group backing her headed by Lou Levy on some cuts. On the others, Billy May’s big band is present, fortunately without the exaggerated arrangements May was wont to use from time to time. Mays’ band included some notable musicians like Conrad Gozzo, Manny Klein, Ted Nash and Milt Bernhart for this session.

Despite the presence of the pop fluff, there are several songs which benefit from patented Lee treatment, including “I Got Lost in His Arms” (with a slight Latin beat), “The “Boy” from Ipanema,” “How Insensitive” and the country-tinged “In the Name of Love.” From Ballads to Swing, from Traditional Pop to Brazilian, this bargain release of two albums in one is vintage Peggy Lee.