Skip to content
.Release/Reissue » 1989 » Nancy Wilson – A Lady With A Song (1989 FLAC)

Nancy Wilson – A Lady With A Song (1989 FLAC)

Nancy Wilson - A Lady With A Song (1989 FLAC)

Nancy Wilson – A Lady With A Song (1989 FLAC)

Artist: Nancy Wilson
Album: A Lady With A Song
Release/Reissue: 1989
Genre: Vocal Jazz

01. Do You Still Dream About Me
02. Now I Know
03. Time Out for Love
04. Don’t Ask My Neighbors
05. A Lady with a Song
06. That’s What I Remember
07. This Love Is What I Need
08. Other Side of the Storm
09. Melody Is You
10. Heavens Hands

After Nancy Wilson signed to Columbia Records following a lengthy stint at Capitol, she tried for a contemporary R&B style on such albums as Forbidden Lover and Nancy Now!, largely without success. A Lady with a Song, the 52nd album by the soon-to-be-53-year-old singer, is another effort in the same direction. The arrangements are full of electronic keyboard washes, popping basslines, and soulful female backup vocals with the occasional piercing saxophone part, all in support of (and at times overwhelming) Wilson’s smoky alto vocals. The material includes the statement of purpose that is the title song, the arousing “This Love Is What I Need,” and the gospel-styled closing anthem “Heaven’s Hands,” each of which requires Wilson to come out of her jazz-pop comfort zone and try for growls and wails. It sounds like she and her producer had been listening to recent Arista Records releases by Aretha Franklin and Dionne Warwick, and trying to do something similar. But the quality of the songwriting lets Wilson down, and, anyway, the approach is not natural to her. She is jazzier and classier than this kind of thing, and while she made a valiant attempt to meet the R&B charts more than halfway, she is not heard at her best here.