Genre » Jazz » Vocal Jazz » Lisa Ekdahl – Grand Songs (2021 24/44 FLAC)

Lisa Ekdahl – Grand Songs (2021 24/44 FLAC)

Lisa Ekdahl - Grand Songs (2021 24/44 FLAC)

Lisa Ekdahl – Grand Songs (2021 24/44 FLAC)

Artist: Lisa Ekdahl
Album: Grand Songs
Release/Reissue: 2021
Genre: Vocal Jazz

01. Wish You Were Gay
02. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’
03. If I Were a Boy
04. Stop! In the Name of Love
05. Most of the Time
06. I Should Have Known Better
07. Till the Rivers All Run Dry
08. Dream a Little Dream of Me
09. Take a Giant Step
10. You Can Close Your Eyes

Twenty years after her debut, Lisa Ekdah revisits pop gems past and present with the usual playfulness, finesse and class that we have become accustomed to from her. On Grand Songs, the Swede is covering a lot of ground, with versions of numbers by Billie Eilish (Wish You Were Gay), The Beatles (I Should Have Known Better), Bob Dylan (Most of the Time) and Beyoncé (If I Were a Boy), as well as Diana Ross and the Supremes (Stop! In the Name of Love), The Monkees (Take a Giant Step) and James Taylor (You Can Close Your Eyes). Like any jazz singer worth their salt, Ekdahl excels with this tricky material and takes advantage of it in order to showcase her unique vocal timbres. The backing here alternates between jazz quintet and large string orchestra with intimate sequences giving way to a dash of lush hedonism. Ekdahl is at her best when she dares to surprise, as on the delightful bossa nova version of I Should Have Known Better and her very 1950s jazz cover of If I Were a Boy. These two tracks are the clear the highlights of a delightful record.