Genre » Linda Ronstadt – Live In Hollywood (2019 24/96 FLAC)

Linda Ronstadt – Live In Hollywood (2019 24/96 FLAC)

Linda Ronstadt - Live In Hollywood (2019 24/96 FLAC)

Linda Ronstadt – Live In Hollywood (2019 24/96 FLAC)

Artist: Linda Ronstadt
Album: Live In Hollywood
Release/Reissue: 2019
Genre: Country

01. I Can’t Let Go
02. It’s so Easy
03. Willin’
04. Just One Look
05. Blue Bayou
06. Faithless Love
07. Hurt so Bad
08. Poor Poor Pitiful Me
09. You’re No Good
10. How Do I Make You
11. Back in the U.S.A.
12. Desperado
13. Band Introductions

There’s a certain cosmic symmetry to the fact that Linda Ronstadt and her mighty voice—which were never captured on an official live record during her 70s and 80s heyday—have shot up the sales charts via a live soundtrack to an April 1980 HBO special at a time when Parkinson’s disease has cruelly extinguished her ability to sing.

Recorded sound from television shows is notorious for being compromised and having limited dynamic range, and here those problems still exist but happily the sound in a 24-bit/96kHz stereo transfer which was given a “very minor burnishing,” according to reissue producer John Boylan, is very good. The major tweak: bringing up Ronstadt’s voice in the mix.

Live in Hollywood’s 12 tracks (culled by Ronstadt from the film’s 20 song set) were wisely selected to emphasize her 70s hits. Driven by an energetic crowd, the entire performance snaps into focus immediately, with opener “I Can’t Let Go.” Another big plus here is the obvious chemistry amongst a band featuring guitarist Danny Kortchmar, Little Feat keyboardist Bill Payne and drummer Russ Kunkel. Buddy Holly’s “It’s So Easy,” Lowell George’s “Willin'” and Roy Orbison’s “Blue Bayou” (her perennial knockout punch) are all here in near-definitive versions. Ronstadt, who has often said she sings better after she’s been onstage for awhile, audibly cranks up the tempos and intensity for the trio of “You’re No Good,” “How Do I Make You” and Chuck Berry’s “Back in the USA,” before closing with a masterful rendition of her signature ballad “Desperado,” accompanied only by Payne’s piano, Finally, nearly 40 years later, we have a tight, rockin’, supremely musical example of Ronstadt at her peak.