.Release/Reissue » 2010 » Frank Sinatra – A Man And His Music (2010 FLAC)

Frank Sinatra – A Man And His Music (2010 FLAC)

  • by
Frank Sinatra - A Man And His Music (2010 FLAC)

Frank Sinatra – A Man And His Music (2010 FLAC)

Artist: Frank Sinatra
Album: A Man And His Music
Release/Reissue: 2010
Genre: Vocal Jazz

CD 01
01. Put Your Dreams Away (For Another Day)
02. All Or Nothing
03. I’ll Never Smile Again
04. There Are Such Things
05. I’ll Be Seeing You
06. The One I Love (Belongs To Somebody Else)
07. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
08. Night And Day
09. Oh! What It Seemed To Be
10. Soliloquy
11. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
12. The House I Live In
13. From Here To Eternity

CD 02
01. Come Fly With Me
02. (How Little It Matters) How Little We Know
03. Learnin’ The Blues
04. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
05. Young At Heart
06. Witchcraft
07. All The Way
08. Love And Marriage
09. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
10. Ring-A-Ding Ding
11. The Second Time Around
12. The Summit
13. The Oldest Established (Permanent Floating Crap Game In New York)
14. Luck Be A Lady
15. Call Me Irresponsible
16. Fly Me To The Moon
17. Softly, As I Leave You
18. My Kind Of Town
19. The September Of My Years

Released around his 50th birthday, A Man and His Music is an ambitious double-album set that provides a brief history of Frank Sinatra’s career. Though the concept sounds quite promising in theory, the execution is somewhat lacking. Instead of using the original recordings — which were made for RCA, Columbia, and Capitol, not his then-current label, Reprise — Sinatra re-recorded the majority of the album’s songs. That in itself isn’t bad. Many of the new versions are quite enjoyable, with lively, inspired vocals. However, there is also narration from Sinatra that runs throughout the album. Although it does offer some amusing anecdotes and gives a sense of his long, complex history, the narration prevents the album from being a consistently engaging listen.