Genre ยป Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt – The Complete Trio Collection. Deluxe Edition (2016 FLAC)

Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt – The Complete Trio Collection. Deluxe Edition (2016 FLAC)

Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt - The Complete Trio Collection. Deluxe Edition (2016 FLAC)

Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt – The Complete Trio Collection. Deluxe Edition (2016 FLAC)

Artist: Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, Linda Ronstadt
Album: The Complete Trio Collection. Deluxe Edition
Release/Reissue: 2016
Genre: Country

CD 01
01. The Pain of Loving You
02. Making Plans
03. To Know Him Is to Love Him
04. Hobo’s Meditation
05. Wildflowers
06. Telling Me Lies (with Dolly Parton & Emmy Lou Harris)
07. My Dear Companion
08. Those Memories of You
09. I’ve Had Enough
10. Rosewood Casket
11. Farther Along

CD 02
01. Lover’s Return
02. High Sierra
03. Do I Ever Cross Your Mind
04. After the Gold Rush
05. The Blue Train
06. I Feel the Blues Movin’ In
07. You’ll Never Be the Sun
08. He Rode All the Way to Texas
09. Feels Like Home
10. When We’re Gone, Long Gone

CD 03
01. Wildflowers (Alternate Take 1986)
02. Waltz Across Texas Tonight (Unreleased 1994)
03. Lover’s Return (Alternate Mix)
04. Softly and Tenderly
05. Pleasant as May
06. My Dear Companion (Alternate Take 1986)
07. My Blue Tears
08. Making Plans (Alternate Take 1986)
09. I’ve Had Enough (Alternate Mix 1986)
10. Grey Funnel Line
11. You Don’t Knock
12. Where Will the Words Come From
13. Do I Ever Cross Your Mind (Dolly Lead – Alternate Take 1994)
14. Are You Tired of Me
15. Even Cowgirls Get the Blues
16. Mr. Sandman
17. Handful of Dust
18. Calling My Children Home (A Cappella, 1986)
19. In a Deep Sleep
20. Farther Along (Alternate Mix 1986)

Talking about the first time she harmonized with Emmylou Harris and Linda Ronstadt in 1975, Dolly Parton said, “We all got to singin’ and it was absolutely incredible. It gives me chills, even now.” Given Parton’s remarkable life and career, one would imagine it would take a lot to prompt that reaction, but there’s no false modesty in Dolly’s words. Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt were all splendid vocalists on their own, but they’d also shown a talent for collaborating with others throughout their careers. And when the like-minded women decided to make an album together, they created something rare, a collaboration between three major stars that never smacks of ego. Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt brought out the best in one another on their brilliant 1987 album, Trio, with the group harmonies sounding even more glorious than their lead vocals. (Trio also found Parton and Ronstadt working with better and more flattering material than they’d had on their solo albums in quite a while.) Trio was enough of a success that the singers carved out time in their busy schedules to make another album together, 1999’s Trio II, with similarly impressive results. Ronstadt’s health prevents her from making another Trio album in the 21st century, but Rhino Records have given us the next best thing with The Complete Trio Collection. This three-disc set brings together Trio and Trio II in full with a bonus disc of 20 outtakes and alternate versions recorded during the sessions for the original albums. Both Trio and Trio II have aged quite well, especially the first album with its emphasis on acoustic, bluegrass-influenced arrangements that blend well with three-part harmonies. (As Harris quips in the liner notes, they were playing Americana music before it had a name.) And if disc three often covers material that appears elsewhere in the set, Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt tried enough different approaches to these songs that the variants still sound fresh, and the performances are a knockout throughout. At the end of an unreleased take of “You Don’t Knock,” Harris quietly says, “That one felt real good,” and like Dolly, she speaks the truth. For fans of the original Trio albums, buying The Complete Trio Collection to get the disc of unreleased takes might seem a bit excessive, but for anyone with a taste for great country or folk singing who has never heard Parton, Harris, and Ronstadt’s work together, this set is nothing less than essential.